skip navigation

UW-Washington wins Wisconsin Collegiate Conference Volleyball Tournament, plus All-Conference announced

11/06/2018, 8:15pm CST

UW-Washington claimed the Women's Volleyball Tournament title


UW-Washington captured the championship at the recent Wisconsin Collegiate Conference women's volleyball tournament held at JustAGame Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells. The Wildcats won the East Division of the WCC, earning the top seed in the playoffs. In the tournament semi-finals, Washington got past Barron two games to one to advance to the championship match.

Marinette was the top seed from the West after winning the regular season title. The Buccaneers defeated Waukesha 2-0, advancing to take on Washington.

The championship match went quickly, as Washington claimed a straight sets victory. The title comes after Washington finished as the state runners-up in the last two years.


The Wisconsin Collegiate Conference also announced its postseason awards for the 2018 season. 

In the East Division, UW-Marinette's Ashlee Mayer was named the Player of the Year. Kayla Schommer of UW-Washington took home Setter of the Year recognition, while Taylor Bebo of UW-Marinette received the Defensive Specialist of the Year. UW-Marinette's Dan Porath was cited as the Coach of the Year in the East Division.

The West Division Player of the Year went to Amber Grundahl of UW-Baraboo. The Setter of the Year was shared by UW-Barron's Alexxis Hulburt and UW-Baraboo's Kelsea Storkel. Sierra Litwaitis of UW-Marshfield was named the Defensive Specialist of the Year. UW-Baraboo's Genevieve Raddatz took home Coach of the Year honors.

The full All-Conference list can be found below.

Tag(s): Volleyball  News